Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday

on January 7, 2013

Today is the first Meatless Monday of the year!  I found this pasta with eggplant recipe while looking for a Pasta Alla Norma recipe.  I like the Pioneer Woman so it was yet another reason to try it.  She insists on salting the eggplant, but honestly, I wonder what difference it really makes.  I did it anyway, though.  I added some of the leftover calabaza squash and mushrooms(from the panini).  I didn’t have fresh basil, the substitute here was a spoonful of pesto.  I was also able to finish off a box of farfalle.  I’m trying hard to be good at using what I have, instead of buying more.

meatlesspasta

I added parmesan cheese after I took the picture.  I love pasta with veggies.  This tasted like ratatouille, it had most of the ingredients.

I bought a big chunk of parmesan from Sam’s Club.  Since it’s just the two of us, it takes awhile to go through it.  The Foodsaver works great for some things, but for foods I get into more frequently, I love Ziploc Vacuum Bags.

vacuumbag

The manual air removal pump fits on the little circle on the upper corner.  I use the bags for coffee, nuts, cheese, tortillas, etc., etc., etc.  It makes it easy to pull out what I need then seal it back up.  I got extra bags recently at Walmart but haven’t seen the starter kit for awhile.  Some Targets also sell them.

Leave a Reply

