Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

B,L & D

on January 5, 2013

By chance, today I made dishes for all three meals, breakfast, lunch & dinner.  I’d been meaning to bake up another batch of granola, I had the ingredients all mixed up, but hadn’t gotten around to baking it until today.

granolaraw

Right now,my favorite recipe is one I got from my sister, it’s an olive oil and maple granola.  I don’t use olive oil, though, just a a blend from Crisco.  I change around the ingredients too.  I added more oats, substituted honey for maple syrup (and added less), and used different nuts (sunflower, pumpkin and almonds today), plus threw in some oat bran and flax seed.  I baked it on two sheet pans, as it made quite a lot and I wanted to make sure it all browned.

granolabakedBreakfast for tomorrow

I’m still trying to be good and use up ingredients before they spoil.  Today it was buttermilk, which went into a wheat bread from a “Cooking Light” recipe.  The “secret ingredient” is ground up oats.  It adds substance to the bread without making it dry.  The recipe calls for walnuts but sometimes I don’t use them.  This is one of my favorite breads.

wheatbread

The rest will be eaten as toast with breakfast and sandwiches for lunch.

Dinner was Day Two of cabbage…Beer Bratwurst with Cabbage.  I’ve made it before so I knew what I wanted to change.  For one thing, I only made a quarter of the recipe and I still have leftovers.  I also added carrots and potatoes.  I don’t know what the big deal is about bratwurst here, it seems quite popular.  I used bratwurst since I had bought a package and there were leftovers (frozen).  Next time I think I’ll just use a chicken sausage, or if I can find it, knackwurst or bockwurst.

bratwurstccabbage

What I like about dishes like this, are that it’s vegetables, protein and carbs all in one.  I also like using meat more as a seasoning than the main ingredient.  Of course, all of this cooking meant lots of dishes in the evening.  Tomorrow is definitely leftovers.

Leave a Reply

