Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

As the saying goes…

on January 2, 2013

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Recently I had the veggie panini at Cork restaurant in Tyler.  I’d never had panini with eggplant before, loved it.  It’s not exactly practical to go there every night, so I made my own version, first grilling the veggies on the George Foreman Grill.

paniniinside

I had cheese, calabaza squash, eggplant, baby portobella mushrooms, onion and red peppers, plus pesto and EVOO.  The sandwich itself went into the grill for five minutes to make the bread toasty.

vegpanini

I didn’t season the veggies too much, just used some Penzey’s Forward spice.  It would have been better with salt but I’m trying to be good.  Sweet potato oven fries (brush with oil and bake at 450 for 20-25 minutes) and pickled squash (from a friend) were on the side.  It was a big sandwich, I only ate half (Don ate the whole thing!).

I had grilled veggie paninis when I visited my sister too, they make me think of her and her family.  I miss seeing them all especially during the holidays.  It’s nice to have food memories from visits!

One response to “As the saying goes…

  1. lowrytwins says:

    Yum! I usually put grilled eggplant, zucchini, and bell peppers in our paninis since that’s what I grow in the garden. Can you grow these veggies in Texas? I switch off between fresh mozzarella and feta cheese and use ciabbata flat breads. Yours look delicious. Makes we crave summer veggies.

Leave a Reply

