Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Grilled Mac Cheese Sandwich

on December 30, 2012

The continuing saga of leftover macaroni and cheese….

I watch “Eat St.,” “Unique Eats” and similar shows on the Food Network and Cooking Channel.  Sometimes there is a sandwich or burger made with mac cheese.  I thought I’d give it a try.  I layered bread, cheese, thinly sliced mac cheese, more cheese, and topped it with bread.  Mine also has chopped pickled jalapeños on it.

makingsandwich

I grilled it on the George Foreman Grill, hoping that it would help heat up the mac cheese in the middle.  The bread is kind of dark but I wanted to cook it until the cheese started oozing out.

grillingsandwich

It was fun to try, not all that bad, but on the other hand, not something I’ll probably make again.  We had some carrots to attempt to balance out the carbs a little.

maccheesegrilled

Leave a Reply

