Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Mac & Cheese Quiche

on December 29, 2012

I had over half a casserole of mediocre mac & cheese.  What to do.  I had been thinking of quiche, since a friend had made it recently (with feta – yum).  The mac & cheese was dry and didn’t have enough cheese.  Seemed like it would be an easy fix by throwing it into a quiche.

maccheesequiche

I also added sauteed onion & red pepper, mushrooms, and of course, more cheese.  I’m not sure if it was Bon Appetit or Gourmet magazine, that had an article about a foolproof Julia Child quiche…anyway, for the liquid, for each egg, add enough milk or half & half to make 1/2 cup, plus seasoning.  It’s such a simple concept.  If 3 eggs is not enough, then it’s easy enough to add another egg with the appropriate amount of liquid.  The quiche is then baked at 375 for about 45 minutes.

salad&quiche

I think it was better than what reheated leftovers would have been.  For dinner, I added a salad made with the last of the peppers and tomatoes from my sis-in-law’s vegetable garden.

Quiche is one of those things that I love but seldom make.  I’ll have to make a conscious effort to keep it in mind.  It’s another good “clean out the refrigerator” dish.  It’s also what we’ll be having for Meatless Monday…leftovers!

One response to “Mac & Cheese Quiche

  1. lowrytwins says:

    What an interesting idea for the next time I have mac and cheese. I usually make a huge casserole and then get tired of eating it. Hence, the idea of creating a new meal out of something I already have on hand sounds like a great solution.

Leave a Reply

