Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Comfort Foods

on December 28, 2012

Today was quite cold, I’m not sure it even made it into the 40’s.  I noticed a few of my Facebook friends made comfort food today…lentil stew, bread pudding, cornbread, among other things.  We had macaroni and cheese, here, from the January 2013 issue of Bon Appetit magazine.
http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/quick-recipes/2013/01/no-boil-mac-and-cheese

maccheesemag

I’ve never had much luck with baked macaroni and cheese.  I had high hopes with this recipe, because going into the oven it looked like it would be creamy, but when it was done, it was kind of dry.  Plus it needed more cheese.

maccheese

I think with a few tweaks it will be a good recipe.  Either less macaroni or more liquid.  Definitely more cheese.  And maybe some sauteed onion mixed in.

Earlier in the day, I made pumpkin creme brulee.
http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2012/09/pumpkin-spice-creme-br%C3%BBl%C3%A9e.html

It all started when I went out to brunch recently, and one of the desserts offered was pumpkin creme brulee.  However, the waiter regretfully came back to our table saying they didn’t have any more.  I ended up getting eggnog creme brulee instead.  Although the eggnog version was fine, my mind had already processed pumpkin and the thought was stuck in my brain.

waterbathThis picture shows that canning tongs come in handy for other things, like removing ramekins from a water bath.

brulee

I only made half the recipe, with 2 cups of whipping cream, and I got six 4.5 ounce ramekins out of it.  Thinking back to the restaurant, I am feeling embarrassed that I ate the whole dessert, it was so much bigger than my little ones.  I wouldn’t be surprised if the restaurant size was the equivalent of 3-4 of my little ones.  No wonder I was full for the rest of the day.

One response to “Comfort Foods

  1. lowrytwins says:

    Both eggnog and pumpkin creme brulee sound equally delicious! I wouldn’t mind having either one of them. I have also been guilty of eating the whole serving at once1

Leave a Reply

