Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Merry Christmas

on December 26, 2012

It was a nice, quiet Christmas here.  I especially love the phone calls with family.  We had spaghetti, salad and rolls for dinner.  I made the rolls from homemade pizza dough, rolled it out and spread it with garlic butter, sprinkled it with parmesan and herbs, then rolled it up like cinnamon rolls.  Just a little something different for garlic bread.  I love garlic.  My camera has a “food” mode for photos but it seems to make them yellow-ish.  On automatic mode, everything looks harsh.  I’ll have to find a balance.

garlicbutterrolls

Yesterday I made turtle graham bars.  It is so simple, you lay out graham crackers, spread a butter & brown sugar mixture on top, then bake for 15 minutes.  The recipe calls for melting chocolate to spread on top, but sprinkling chocolate chips on the hot-out-of-the-oven mess, then spreading them around after a few minutes, was a lot easier.  This is one of those treats that is addictive, as in “I’ll just have one more.”  Here’s the recipe:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/claire-robinson/turtle-graham-bars-recipe/index.html

grahamchips

With chocolate chips melting on top

toffee

Container full of deliciousness

Lastly, I was touched by how thoughtful people were in the presents they gave me.  I’m so grateful.  Several of them came from just random comments I’d made, like wanting to borrow an espresso maker to try it out.  Instead of just loaning me one, I got one of my own.  Do you think I have a drinking problem…as in coffee?

coffee

I love coffee.  Over the years, I’ve accumulated about every kind of coffee maker under the sun.  I have French presses, a Mr. Coffee Keurig, Aeropress, and now a stainless steel stovetop espresso maker.  I use them all, just rotate through as my mood suits me.  I’m not one of those people that goes through pots of coffee a day, I usually only have one cup.  I just want it to be one GOOD cup.  My favorite is Peet’s Coffee, from Emeryville, CA.  Besides being good coffee, it reminds me of my Mom, and when we went out to dinner at Fat Apple’s restaurant in Berkeley, and it was a treat for her to order a cup of Peet’s with dessert.  This was way before coffee places like Starbucks were on every other corner, and long before the foodie craze.  I looked online and saw that Fat Apple’s is still there!

Well, here’s wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas!

One response to “Merry Christmas

  1. Jeanne T. says:

    Wish I was there – love spaghetti! It’s my favorite. Thinking of you at the holidays!

Leave a Reply

