Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Here we go….

on December 24, 2012

I really don’t know where to start, so I’m just jumping in.  Sometimes what I make isn’t exactly from scratch.  We had French Onion Burgers for dinner the other night.  The idea came together when I had ground beef to use up, some old mushrooms, and then I opened the pantry door.

pantry

Around this time of year I stock up on things like Campbell’s soups, since they’re on sale, with good intentions.  I’ll be thinking how easy it will to throw together dinner with these items on hand.  Then I end up not using them.  (I give away extra stuff in May, during the National Association of Letter Carriers Stamp Out Hunger food drive.)  For awhile I had been good, using what’s in my pantry and not buying anything new.  I lapsed and started buying things again, now I’m trying hard to use what I already have.

For this recipe, you pan fry hamburgers, then add French Onion soup, simmer for a few minutes, and voila, dinner is served.  The leftover soup is used to dip the sandwiches in.  I added sauteed onions and mushrooms too, with a sprinkle of crumbled gorgonzola.

frenchonionburger

Here’s the recipe:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/campbells-kitchen-french-onion-burgers/

Tonight if we were in California, we’d be having Crab Louie salad (with dungeness crab), the family tradition.  Since we’re home this year, we’re having (drum roll please) chili dogs and salad.  Christmas dinner will be spaghetti and garlic butter rolls.  I was going to have ham but decided against it just to simplify things.

Happy Holidays, everyone!

One response to “Here we go….

  1. Carmen says:

    This year I implemented a pantry-control plan and it’s gone pretty good so far. I have a thing for simmer sauces tho so I have a few more Indian and Carribean sauces than I need. I, too, broke tradition and had campfire hotdogs for Thanksgiving this year. I think Christmas spaghetti sounds mahvelous! Congrats on your new blog!

Leave a Reply

