Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Ginger Garlic Soup

on December 16, 2013

I’m almost ADD with recipes, I’ll find one, want to make it that day, then find something that replaces it online.  I saw this recipe for Ginger Garlic Soup on Friday and have been wanting to make it ever since.  I made a few changes, based on what ingredients I had on hand.  Instead of red pepper, I  used green bell pepper, Anaheim, and maybe a jalapeno.  I also added carrots in hopes of disguising the peppers (picky eater in the house).  I must have had a jalapeno because it was really spicy.  Oh, I also grated the ginger and garlic instead of simmering the broth with chunks.  The ginger and garlic made the house smell so good.  Loved the soup.

DSCN4142

We had soup last night too, jook in a crockpot.  I read through the comments before making it and one person said it looked watery, so I did a 1:8 ratio of rice to liquid, instead of 1:10.  I grew up with this soup, made with leftover Thanksgiving turkey.  I used “Better Than Bouillon” instead.  It wasn’t as good as with fresh stock, but not bad either.  I love soup weather.

DSCN4130

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

